About Me

Updated: July 1, 2022

I grew up in Pune – a city of about 3 million people in the western part of India. I have always been curious about how things work. That curiosity drew me to study mechanical engineering at COEP. Over time I grew more interested in product development and moved to the US to study manufacturing at MIT. At MIT, I developed a passion for healthcare when I interned at a company building lab-on-a-chip devices for point of care HIV diagnostics in Africa.

After grad school, I discovered the wide variety of opportunities in the medical device space to solve hard engineering problems. I worked on minimally invasive surgical devices in womens health where I designed and developed new products to remove tumors inside the uterus. Later, I worked on cardiovascular devices used to treat patients suffering from heart disease, where I led teams and managed programs across new product and business development.

As I launched new products, I realized I enjoy both the product and business side. I enjoyed thinking at a strategic level but was also comfortable diving deep into operational details to make things happen. The combination of these interests led me to pursue my MBA, where I spent a lot of time on exploring venture capital, entrepreneurship and finance.

Over the past few years, I have made a transition to business development and partnerships in digital health and telehealth. I have sourced, evaluated and operationalized population health level opportunities across remote patient monitoring, e-prescriptions, diagnostic kits, virtual vitals and at home care. I genuinely believe that we are at a tipping point in how each of us experience care, which makes me very excited for the future of health tech. I enjoy mentoring and advising early stage startups and founders.

After living in Boston for about 6 years, I moved to the SF Bay area in 2017. I live in the Burlingame with my wife Isha and several other plants. I enjoy hiking and camping, basically anything outdoors. I love to travel and have visited countries in the Middle East, Africa, Europe and Latin America. I grew up playing Badminton and Table Tennis. My favorite way to de-stress is to go on long walks in my neighborhood. I love to read non-fiction books, listen to podcasts and (to my own demise) am quite active on twitter (follow me @tejasinamdar_). My favorite food is Indian street food called chat and I could eat pizza everyday.